Skip to content

A quick way to fix “Chrome is already running” annoyances.

I use Syncback to backup my files on a schedule. At the end of the backup, ┬áSyncback opens the HTML log file in your default browser. For some reason, with Chrome in Windows 7, this leaves Chrome processes running when I log in (even though I’m logged out when the scheduled backup runs). So I get the message that “my profile is already in use” or “there’s another copy of chrome running” even though I can’t see any evidence of it.

Of course it’s there in the task manager.

There’s a quick fix using taskkill. You can create a batch file, then create a shortcut to it, and put the shortcut in your startup folder. The only required line in the batch file is

  1. taskkill /im chrome.exe /f

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *
*
*